The Line of Lode Lookout and Miner's Memorial is an iconic structure on the edge of a large mullock heap, made of mostly ore, that bisects the city of Broken Hill.
The building itself was designed by Angus Barron, Steve Kelly & Dario Palumbo, as a metaphor to represent the underground lives of the miners, evoking the damp, claustrophobic environment . The memorial is a tribute to the 800+ miners who have tragically lost their lives working in the Broken Hill mines since 1883.
The plaque at the front of the monument is inscribed with the words; "The Miner`s Memorial
dedicated to those who gave
the ultimate sacrifice
to the city of Broken Hill"
and was opened by Deputy Prime Minister John Anderson MP on
Saturday 21st April, 2001
Access to the memorial is available all day via a sealed walkway from the parking lot or through the cafe during opening hours. Access is free and monitored with camera security and spot lights at night.